top of page
Search
  • floraisobel

Engaging the world of Fast Fashion on Twitter


Entering the Twitter community & spreading awareness of the negative environmental impacts of the fast-fashion industry through media & hashtags.


View my posts on my profile!



© copyright free image from unsplash.com



Fast fashion awareness on Twitter, has been a very informative experience for me through the exposure to all the knowledge and communities surrounding the idea of ethical fashion. These communities share their own experiences, scare tactics, their knowledge of the issues, as well as actions to change the way you consume fashion. A sense of community that I have not quite experienced on any other social media platform.


Hashtags are an important aspect on Twitter in terms of assisting with engaging your community and bringing people together who relate to each other through common interests. Hashtags are important for engaging my indented audience and community on Twitter, which is why I had done thorough research prior to posting my tweets. I had researched other ethical fashion and environmental fashion pages on Twitter and looked at the most common hashtags used, and which ones received the highest engagement and traction. The hashtags that I have decided to use in my tweets are #fastfashion, #landfill, #textilewaste, #greenwashing, #Boohoo, #recycle, and #sustainyourstyle. Each hashtag related to the content within the tweet on my profile.





My first post consisted of a YouTube video that I had come across that outlined the environmental impacts of fast fashion. I feel that this was an important video for people to watch as it relates it to current trends and fashion we see in society today, which further allows the consumer to feel responsible, resulting in a hopeful response. I had also included a scare tactic quote to reinforce the detriments of fast fashion on our environment, further driving the user to take action or at least watch the video.





The second post outlines some common examples of company’s that are guilty of fast fashion, which are all relatable and recognisable to my audience. I have linked an image from Unsplash.com of one of the brand’s logos, to further catch the user’s attention. While my post simply outlines which brands to avoid, I have also linked my blog which directs the user to read about why to avoid the brands.





The articles that I had retweeted were posts that had inspired me and added value to my views and knowledge of the fast fashion industry, in the terms of greenwashing consumers and negatively impacting the environment. My first quote tweet was regarding a popular fast fashion brand Boohoo, that had been called out for greenwashing their consumers by advertising as sustainable, when they are in fact the opposite. I has shared this post as I feel like it will be valuable to my readers through raising more awareness about which brands harm the environment. What motivated me to retweet my second post, was due to the shocking statistics about landfill, and how fast fashion brands contribute majorly to this. I felt that this was an important post to share to educate the consumers of fast fashion and encourage them to educate themselves on the environmental impacts of their purchases.



© copyright free image from unsplash.com



My overall thoughts and experiences on twitter this week have been very informative and engaging through the use of minimal text with media as the main source of message delivery. Due to the limited character count of each tweet, it limits the text heavy aspect and allows the viewer to be focused on the media attached. This has really helped myself and others get their messages across in an effective way in an engaging environment.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page